ILLINOIS STATE POLICE MERIT BOARD

MINUTES

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING – December 13, 2021

Present were Illinois State Police Merit Board Secretary James Riley; Board Member Nancy Maldonado, Board Member Michael Clark, Executive Director Emily Fox, and Chief Legal Counsel Daniel Dykstra. Board Member Karen McNaught attended by videoconference.

Ms. Maureen McCurry, ISP Chief Legal Counsel also attended the meeting in-person.

Lieutenant Colonel Marcus Gipson, ISP Division of Academy and Training; Colonel Margaret McGreal, ISP Division of Patrol; Colonel Akil Smith, ISP Division of Internal Investigations; Lieutenant Sean Brannon, FOP Command Council; Lieutenant Juan Valenzuela, HISLEA; and Attorney Bruce Bialorucki, Trooper's Lodge attended the meeting by telephone conference.

The meeting was held at the James R. Thompson Center.

Secretary Riley opened the meeting at 3:30 PM.

Secretary Riley asked the Board Members to introduce themselves.

The Board voted unanimously to approve the 4th Quarter Board Meeting minutes held on October 19, 2021.

The Board voted unanimously to go into closed session.

Board Secretary James Riley, Board Member Nancy Maldonado, Board Member Michael Clark, Board Member Karen McNaught, Executive Director Emily Fox, and Chief Legal Counsel Daniel Dykstra attended the closed session portion of the meeting.

The Board discussed the Joint Motion for a Decision in the Special Agent Jonathan Parker matter.

The Board discussed the Joint Motion to Dismiss in the Sergeant James Powell matters.

The Board discussed Personnel Matters.

The Board discussed Merit Board Policies: MB10: Identity Protection Training, and MB15: Time and Attendance.

The Board discussed the election of Board Chairperson.

The Board discussed keeping the October 19, 2021, closed meeting minutes confidential.

Illinois State Police Merit Board December 13, 2021 Page Two

The Board voted unanimously to go out of closed session and return to open session.

The Board voted unanimously to deny the Joint Motion for a Decision in the Special Agent Jonathan Parker matter.

The Board voted unanimously to accept the Joint Motion to Dismiss in the Sergeant James Powell matters 20-1, 20-2, 20-3 and 20-6 based on Sergeant Powell's resignation.

The Board voted unanimously to approve the following Merit Board Policies: MB-10: Identity Protection Training, and MB-15: Time and Attendance.

The Board voted unanimously to elect Mr. Michael Clark as Board Chairman.

The Board voted unanimously to keep the October 19, 2021 closed meeting minutes confidential.

The Board voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting.

James V. Riley, Secretary